Variety Earns 121 Nominations at National Arts & Entertainment Awards

Variety has been nominated for 121 National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards, surpassing the publication’s previous record of 99 nods in 2021.

Variety nominated for Best Entertainment Edition for “Leaving the Kingdom” issue, released December 21, 2021, featuring outgoing Disney CEO Bob Iger. Senior music writer and chief music critic Chris Willman and executive editor Brent Lang were nominated for print journalist of the year, while associate music editor Jem Aswad and chief correspondent Elizabeth Wagmeister were nominated for online journalist of the year.

“Us Variety The newsroom had a banner year in breaking news, industry news and traffic. These nominations are just another sign of the incredible work our reporters and editors do as the No. 1 entertainment news brand,” said co-editors Ramin Setoodeh and Cynthia Littleton. earned a nomination for Best Entertainment Website. the team consists of Editor William Earl, Director of Digital Design Dan Doperalski, Associate Editors Pat Saperstein and Meredith Woerner, Director of Digital News Zack Sharf, Editor-in-Chief Maane Khatchatourian, News Editors Jordan Moreau and Ellise Shafer, Associate Editors J .Kim Murphy and Ethan Shanfeld, social editor Katcy Stephan and social media coordinator Rachel Seo.

Also Read :  The “Kings of #NBATwitter” Josiah Johnson, LaJethro Jenkins, and Zach Schwartz Reunite for the 2022-23 NBA Season on “Outta Pocket,” a BUCKETS Original Production Presented by Wave Sports + Entertainment

Willman leads them all Variety executives with 17 nominations, including Best Music Critic awards. book reviewer; columnist; humor writing; music and arts business writing; celebrity news; pandemic report; musical personality profile over 2,500 words. arts commentary; streaming and arts soft news; and celebrity feature. Aswad follows with 15 nominations, including Best Music Critic. music business writing; Entertaining Show? Arts hard news; diversity in the music industry; pandemic reporting; music feature; and lots of nods with Setoodeh for their Lil Nas X Variety cover.

Lang has nine nominations, including the best title. The film industry includes more than 1,000 words and pandemic reporting with film and media reporter Rebecca Rubin. writing appreciation with chief editor Jazz Tangcay for the Halyna Hutchins tribute. personality profile; The film industry in under 1,000 words with senior entertainment and media writer Matt Donnelly. film commentary; and cinematic hard news. Senior entertainment reporter Angelique Jackson earned eight nominations. Including characters for diversity in entertainment and personality profile under 2,500 words for her “Feminist Evolution of ‘Jurassic World'” cover. Celebrity feature over 1,000 words; soft news broadcast feature over five minutes. diversity in the television industry; television personality profiles; and feature film.

Also Read :  How NH’s millionaire politicians try to relate to everyday constituents

Variety The video series “The Take” earned two nominations, one each for hosts Wagmeister and Clayton Davis; Variety senior awards editor and other for Best Video News with Wagmeister, Jackson, VP of video Alex Castro and supervising producer Laela Zadeh Schmidt. But Variety video featuring Academy Award winner “CODA” Troy Kotsur and Viola Davis earned additional nominations for Schmidt, Davis, Wagmeister, Sharf, director of physical production Preston Northrop and senior producer Nicholas Stango. VarietyThe “Awards Circuit” podcast received nominations for hosts Davis, Tangcay, TV editor Michael Schneider, associate editor Jenelle Riley and TV editor Emily Longeretta.

But Variety Nominees included Wagmeister, Schneider and TV editor-in-chief Brian Steinberg with seven. Executive music editor Shirley Halperin with six; Davis, Rubin, Setoodeh and senior vice president Tim Gray with five; Donnelly, chief film critic Owen Gleiberman and executive editor of international and senior writer Manori Ravindran with four? Tangcay, Riley and editor-in-chief Malina Saval with three.

Also Read :  Winner and Loser of the Week in Florida politics — Week of 9.25.22

Saperstein, Stephan, Schmidt, Northrop, Chief Film Critic Peter Debruge, Chief Television Critic Daniel D’Addario, International Correspondent KJ Yossman, Legal Editor Gordon Cox, Chief Television Critic Caroline Framke, Senior Media Writer Gene Maddaus, international journalist Naman Ramachandran and music freelancer Leena Tailor. Other nominees included Earl, Doperalski, Castro, Stango, Sharf, Longeretta, Shanfeld, Littleton, executive vice president of global content, Steven Gaydos, senior international film publishing Elsa Keslassy, ​​senior culture and events editor Marc Malkin, Italy and Middle correspondent East Nick Vivarelli , and freelance musicians AD Amorosi and Roy Trakin.

The National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards are presented annually by the Los Angeles Press Club. Winners will be announced on December 4, 2022, at the Sheraton Universal Hotel. See the full list of nominees here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.