Did you know that someone could be using your iPhone to track your precise location without your knowledge or permission? Fortunately, Apple now provides a feature called Safety Check for us to discover and stop these unauthorized trackers.
The good thing about this new tool is that it automatically detects what you’ve shared, like your location or photos, and with whom and how to immediately turn off access and information.
It’s a game changer when it comes to your security. It can mean the difference between life and death, especially if someone is in a domestic abuse situation.
What is security control?
You’ll need to have updated your iPhone to the latest iOS 16 software before you can see the new security check feature. It was created by Apple for users who feel that their personal safety is in danger, whether it is a case of harassment, stalking or those at risk of domestic abuse or similar situations.
SEND A FUN MESSAGE WITH THESE IPHONE HACKS
When Security Verification is turned on, it lets users choose who to share their information with, restrict Messages and FaceTime to their iPhone, reset system privacy permission for apps, change passwords, change their Apple ID password and much more.
Where can I find the security check on my iPhone?
What apps use Security Verification when it’s turned on?
The following apps will stop sharing information with people you’ve restricted once Safety Check is turned on:
- Shared calendars
- Shared location using Find My
- Shared notes
- Shared photos (including shared library and shared albums)
HOW TO FIND YOUR LOST IPHONE
When enabled, what information is no longer shared with Safety Check?
When Security Check is turned on, it will delete all data collected by the following apps, networks, and features:
- Files and folders
- local network
- Location services
- Media and Apple Music
- Movement and fitness
- Speech recognition
APPLE, GOOGLE, AMAZON AND FACEBOOK ARE ALWAYS LISTENING UNLESS YOU CHANGE THIS SETTING
What features are available in Safety Check?
Safety Check includes three main features.
1. Emergency reset
The first feature to look at in Safety Check is Emergency reset. This is available for anyone who wants to immediately restore access for all people and apps, as well as review and reset all settings associated with your Apple ID.
- Your location will no longer be shared in Find My
- your privacy permissions for all apps will be reset
- Messages and FaceTime will be restricted to your iPhone only
DO YOU HAVE AN IPHONE? DON’T WAIT A SECOND TO UPDATE CRITICAL PRIVACY SETTINGS
2. Manage shared use and access
If you only want to restrict sharing with certain people, you can selectManage sharing and access.This will allow you to customize which people and apps can access your information.
CLICK TO RECEIVE KURT’S CYBERGUY NEWSLETTER WITH QUICK TIPS, TECHNICAL REVIEWS, SECURITY ALERTS AND EASY HOW TO GET SMARTER
3. Quick exit
Finally, in case you need to quickly hide the information you’re setting in your Safety Check app, just tap the Quick Exit button and it’ll save the changes you’ve made and immediately return you to the Safety Check home page. No one will be able to access the changes you made in the meantime by hiding your tracks.
CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP
Once you click Manage sharing and access, it will take you to lists of your contacts, apps, and other devices (Mac laptops, iPads, etc.) and then you can choose who and what you want to share. your information with. All your actions will be saved and you can always come back to Security Check later and change your work.
For more Apple tips, go to CyberGuy.com and search for “Apple” and be sure to sign up for my free newsletter.