Stromberg, Hanson, Artner tabbed Fairmont fall sports MVPs | News, Sports, Jobs

Madeline Stromberg

FAIRMONT — Madilyn Stromberg, Macy Hanson and Gavin Artner earned the most valuable honors for the Fairmont Area Cardinal track and field teams this fall.

Stromberg, a junior goaltender, led the Conference South in 2022 with an average of 13.83 saves per game.

An All-BSC honoree, Stromberg became the first goalkeeper in Fairmont Area girls soccer history to win the program’s MVP award.

Hanson, a sophomore, finished fourth in the 5K finish at the Class AA state cross country meet in 18:36.5, earning her second consecutive all-state title at St. Olaf College in Northfield.

Also Read :  Fairmont, Luverne to clash in sectional football showdown | News, Sports, Jobs

Artner, a junior, finished 16th at the Section 2 AA meet in 17:15.61, failing to qualify for state.

In addition to being named Most Valuable Runner on the Cardinal boys track team, Artner was named Fairmont’s Most Improved Player this season by fellow sophomore Andrew Haugen.

Freshman Brier Lenort was named Hardest Worker, sophomore Jaydon Putney was named Rookie of the Year, freshman Cooper Goodall won the Cardinal Award and freshman Braydon Lindsey was named Junior Runner of the Year.

Freshman Kendra Blomster was named Most Improved for the girls program, while senior Lily Higgins proved to be the team’s hardest worker in 2022.

Also Read :  Russell Wilson's fade pattern with Broncos is one of NFL's big mysteries

Seventh-grader Brooklyn Stone won the Rookie of the Year award, freshman Audrina Sackow won the Cardinal Award, and seventh-grader Gwyneth Schultz was named Varsity Runner of the Year.

In addition to Stromberg’s postseason soccer award, the senior trio of Emma Scheppmann, Anna Uttermark and Abby Chihosky earned the team’s most valuable awards. Scheppman and Utermark were named co-offensive MVPs, while Chihosky walked away as defensive MVP.

Freshman Maia Goerndt was named the Cardinals’ Rookie of the Year, while senior Jaden Smith and sophomore Grace Simpson earned top honors.

Also Read :  The new score that needs to be kept for college sports

Senior Allison Janssen earned the Cardinal Spirit Award, while Stromberg and junior Elaina Anderson were named captains of the 2023 Fairmont Area girls soccer team.

Scheppmann also earned first-team All-Big South Conference honors, while Chihosky and senior Keith Bushe joined Stromberg as honorable mention selections.

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.